The Art of Decision Making

Download The Art of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9780470848074
Pages : 320 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (78 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision Making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision Making written by Helga Drummond and published by John Wiley & Sons. This book was released on 2002-02-15 with total page 320 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Science reassures, art disturbs (Proverb) This intriguing exploration of underlying forces in decision making takes as its starting point a wealth of high profile decision disasters. In brilliantly readable analyses, Helga Drummond shows how better awareness of the inherent uncertainties of the decision making process could have made the outcomes very different. Examples showcased include: The Hatfield rail crash The Kursk submarine disaster The Challenger disaster The year 2000 fuel crisis The WWII Dardanelles expedition The Barings Bank collapse The Taurus Stock Exchange Project The Hillsborough tragedy The King's Cross underground fire The Millennium Dome This entertaining yet instructive book offers new insight into the realities of decision making, and shows how you can confront them to improve your prospects of success.

The Art of Decision-Making

Download The Art of Decision-Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : Springer Science & Business Media
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781461210740
Pages : 92 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (612 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision-Making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision-Making written by Morton Davis and published by Springer Science & Business Media. This book was released on 2012-12-06 with total page 92 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Suppose you had the chance to invest in a venture that succeeds half the time. When you fail you lose your in vestment; when you succeed you make a profit of$1.60 for every $1.00 you invest. The odds are 8 to 5 in your favor and you should do well-casinos and insurance companies thrive under less favorable conditions. If you can invest as much as you like, as often as you like, using a betting system that guarantees you can't go broke, common sense suggests you will almost certainly make aprofitafteryou make a large numberofinvestments. In response to yourrequest for a hot stock yourastrologer tells you ABC Inc. will triple in a year (she's really a fraud and picked the stock at random). But since such stocks are rare (one in athousand) you consultan expert and, strangely enough, he confirms the astrologer. From experience you know that the expert diagnoses all stocks, good and bad, correctly, 90% of the time. Common sense suggests you have an excellent chance of tripling your money. You are chairman of acommittee ofthree. Decisions are made by majority rule but if there is no majority your vote as chairman breaks ties. Common sense suggests you will inevitably have more power to determine the outcome than the other members.

The Art of Decision Making

Download The Art of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : Watkins Media Limited
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781786782960
Pages : 408 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.7/5 (867 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision Making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision Making written by Joseph Bikart and published by Watkins Media Limited. This book was released on 2019-07-09 with total page 408 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Drawing insights from philosophy, psychology, literature, and theology, a longtime executive business coach explores how and why we make the decisions we do What is it that makes some of us better—or worse—than others at committing to a choice? What are the forces that hold us back, and how can we successfully overcome them? Every facet of our lives depends on the decisions we make. Yet, how often do we pause to reflect on our ability to make the best and smartest choices? The key is how we confront and refine the decision-making process. Here, Joseph Bikart explores the intricacies of decision making, challenging us to understand why we make the choices we do. He explores how the true power of decisions, especially the toughest among them, help us to face our fears and may in turn change how we think about ourselves. Breaking his study into four clear parts and short practical essays, Bikart presents a lively and compelling exploration of the process of decision making. He covers: • Indecision, Indecision: What makes us indecisive? What holds us back and why? • Where Art Thou?: How and where we get stuck and the importance of relaxing one's grip. • The Momentum of Decisiveness: Keeping our focus and proactivity. • The Deciding Mind: Making our smartest choices. Drawing from such different fields as philosophy, psychology, neurology, literature, art history and theology, The Art of Decision Making takes us on a journey from the depths of procrastination to the elation of decision making. Presenting a fresh perspective on what to do at the proverbial fork in the road, Bikart's unique philosophy is insightful, thought provoking, and potentially life-changing.

Mastering The Art Of Decision Making

Download Mastering The Art Of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : WOW PUBLISHINGS PVT LTD
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9788184156874
Pages : 96 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.1/5 (841 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Mastering The Art Of Decision Making :

Download or read book Mastering The Art Of Decision Making written by Sirshree and published by WOW PUBLISHINGS PVT LTD. This book was released on 2020-05-21 with total page 96 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Making Conscious Decisions We all are constantly making choices every moment of our lives. And it is our choices that determine the quality of our lives. It is the decisions that we make at every juncture that carve our future. If our decisions can shape our lives, are we even conscious of how we make decisions - whether trivial or major? What is the basis for our decision? Are our present choices influenced by our past? Or are we open to fresh insights that can enable more effective decisions for a contented present and brighter future? It is a Startling truth that most people do not make conscious decisions. They allow situations, people or their own past to decide for them. This book provides insights into the key considerations and qualities that can help you make more conscious and balanced decisions. You will discover ways of accessing your intuition to seek guidance from the Source of all answers within you. It explains the art of handling conflicts creatively and making the highest choices when faced with the most crucial challenges in life. Decide and read this book to help yourself decide better in life!

The Art of Decision Making

Download The Art of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : OCLC:1259484487
Pages : 210 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.:/5 (125 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision Making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision Making written by John D. Arnold and published by . This book was released on 1978 with total page 210 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

The Art of Decisions

Download The Art of Decisions PDF

Author :
Publisher : Pearson Education
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 0273710990
Pages : 232 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.7/5 (19 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decisions :

Download or read book The Art of Decisions written by Chris Blake and published by Pearson Education. This book was released on 2008 with total page 232 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Decision making is one of those core skills that is assumed but rarely taught. Yet understanding more about how we do it and how we can use more effective decision making techniques will pay dividends in any manager's day-to-day life. The Art of Decisions will ensure you have the skills to make better decisions every time. The book combines business case studies, lessons from poker, the learning from 500 years of probability and game theory, and decades of psychological research to convey powerful messages about decision making in business. It distils the meaning of good business judgement and highlights the subjective influences that haunt all decision makers, showing you how to recognise them and deal with them. Written for the time-starved business manager, The Art of Decisions will have a universal appeal as it applies to all business sectors and any manager, from the newly promoted team leader to the experienced international CEO. No other book on the market addresses the fundamental issues of business decision making.

The Art of Decision-making

Download The Art of Decision-making PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : UCAL:B3376382
Pages : 416 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.:/5 (33 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision-making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision-making written by Joseph David Cooper and published by . This book was released on 1961 with total page 416 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

The Art of Decisions

Download The Art of Decisions PDF

Author :
Publisher : FT Press
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9780137017102
Pages : 249 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.1/5 (37 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decisions :

Download or read book The Art of Decisions written by Chris Blake and published by FT Press. This book was released on 2009-09-01 with total page 249 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: The Fast-Paced, Fun-to-Read Guide to Making Better Decisions! How much information do you really need to make a business decision? Why don't past winners keep on winning? When should you fold your hand, and when should you press on? In The Art of Decisions, Chris Blake reveals the amazing hidden realities beneath human decision making-and helps you optimize every decision you make. Blake begins by exploding the #1 myth of decision making: the idea that if you have enough knowledge, you can engineer away all risk and make a rational, objective decision that's nearly guaranteed to succeed. Next, Blake turns to the decision-making process itself, teaching better ways to make decisions in a world full of uncertainty, randomness, and tough luck. Drawing on the secrets of psychology, poker, and probability, you'll learn how to identify and overcome biases and errors that constantly creep into the decision-making process. You'll discover the power and pitfalls of intuition in familiar and unfamiliar environments and learn "rules of thumb" drawn from fields as diverse as gambling and computer programming. You're human. You'll never be perfect. But if you want to be right more often, when it matters most, this book will get you there. * Decision-making lessons from Texas Hold'em ¿¿ What to do about the risks and randomness you can't eliminate * Follow your instinct or follow the rules? ¿¿ When to use your intuition--and when to doubt it * Know when it's time to decide ¿¿ How to know when you know enough * Make better decisions in unfamiliar environments ¿¿ Hire a guide or make a map?

The Art of Critical Decision Making

Download The Art of Critical Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 1598035401
Pages : 120 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.0/5 (354 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Critical Decision Making :

Download or read book The Art of Critical Decision Making written by Teaching Company and published by . This book was released on 2009-01-01 with total page 120 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Explores how individuals, groups, and organizations make effective decisions and offers techniques for effective decision-making. Includes case studies.

The Art of Decision-making

Download The Art of Decision-making PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : LCCN:gb64019463
Pages : 394 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.:/5 (6 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision-making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision-making written by Joseph David Cooper and published by . This book was released on 1964 with total page 394 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

The Art of Decision Making

Download The Art of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : AMACOM/American Management Association
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 081447537X
Pages : 210 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (753 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Art of Decision Making :

Download or read book The Art of Decision Making written by John D. Arnold and published by AMACOM/American Management Association. This book was released on 1980-08 with total page 210 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

Handbook of Decision Making

Download Handbook of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : John Wiley & Sons
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 1444323121
Pages : 720 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (231 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Handbook of Decision Making :

Download or read book Handbook of Decision Making written by Paul C. Nutt and published by John Wiley & Sons. This book was released on 2010-09-07 with total page 720 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Wiley's new Handbook of Decision Making is a vital reference text for all students and professionals of management, organization and decision making. The handbook offers a wide range of theoretical and empirical approaches to the understanding of organizational and strategic decisions. Contributors are internationally known experts drawn from North America, Canada and Europe who have spent many years in the study of decision making, and decision making relevant topics. We believe the handbook will become a tour de force in the understanding decision making, offering a wide variety of perspectives, topics, and summative understanding of the field. Chapters in the Handbook were prepared by the leading experts in their field and include cutting edge empirical, theoretical, and review chapters. The chapters bring together for the first time a critical mass of writing on decision making as an organizational and research activity. The Editors are two of the leading international experts in decision making and contribute to the Handbook with five original Chapters that offer an appraisal of the field and suggestions for research, as well as the current status of decision making practice and suggestion for improvement.

Handbook of Decision Making

Download Handbook of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : CRC Press
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781420016918
Pages : 664 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (2 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Handbook of Decision Making :

Download or read book Handbook of Decision Making written by Goktug Morcol and published by CRC Press. This book was released on 2006-11-01 with total page 664 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Over time, thought processes and decision making styles evolved and were shaped by theological, philosophical, political, social, and environmental factors and trends. Recently, advances in technology have borne an unprecedented influence on our social environment. Contemporary thinking inevitably reflects this influence and moves us from a linear,

Encyclopedia of Decision Making and Decision Support Technologies

Download Encyclopedia of Decision Making and Decision Support Technologies PDF

Author :
Publisher : IGI Global
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781599048444
Pages : 1019 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.5/5 (99 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Encyclopedia of Decision Making and Decision Support Technologies :

Download or read book Encyclopedia of Decision Making and Decision Support Technologies written by Adam, Frederic and published by IGI Global. This book was released on 2008-04-30 with total page 1019 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: As effective organizational decision making is a major factor in a company's success, a comprehensive account of current available research on the core concepts of the decision support agenda is in high demand by academicians and professionals. Through 110 authoritative contributions by over 160 of the world's leading experts the Encyclopedia of Decision Making and Decision Support Technologies presents a critical mass of research on the most up-to-date research on human and computer support of managerial decision making, including discussion on support of operational, tactical, and strategic decisions, human vs. computer system support structure, individual and group decision making, and multi-criteria decision making.

The Secrets of Decision Making

Download The Secrets of Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9798885036832
Pages : 212 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.8/5 (85 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Secrets of Decision Making :

Download or read book The Secrets of Decision Making written by Kapil Bedi and published by . This book was released on 2021-11-22 with total page 212 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: We make decisions throughout the day and in our lifespan we make thousands of decisions. Most of the decisions are routine barring few ones which have profound impact on our life. Gaining competence in decision making is highly desirable for personal and professional prosperity. The objective of writing this book is to provide an opportunity to gain the mastery in decision making. Decision making is both science and an art. When we talk of science we will systematically understand what constitutes to be a decision, how we have evolved as decision makers, how we deviate from rationality under the influence of cognitive biases, how we get emotional manipulated. We will learn these with the help of behavioral sciences - neurosciences, social science, neuroeconomics, cognitive psychology and group dynamics. Decision making is an art because we interpret the decisions subjectively. We have to learn and master this art of decision making so as to be an able, rational and ethical decision maker at individual levels, in groups and at organization level. In this highly engaging book, the author details decision making process, explains how to shield from cognitive biases, external manipulations and temptations, describes various tools and techniques required for decision making and throws light on drafting our own ethical code. The concepts are explained in details alongwith case studies and real life examples. It is an essential read for all individuals.

Decision Making for Educational Leaders

Download Decision Making for Educational Leaders PDF

Author :
Publisher : State University of New York Press
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781438429175
Pages : 259 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (384 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Decision Making for Educational Leaders :

Download or read book Decision Making for Educational Leaders written by Bob L. Johnson Jr. and published by State University of New York Press. This book was released on 2012-02-01 with total page 259 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: A guide to decision making for school administrators.

Nurses' Clinical Decision Making

Download Nurses' Clinical Decision Making PDF

Author :
Publisher : Radcliffe Publishing
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 1846190371
Pages : 162 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.1/5 (93 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Nurses' Clinical Decision Making :

Download or read book Nurses' Clinical Decision Making written by Russell Gurbutt and published by Radcliffe Publishing. This book was released on 2006 with total page 162 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Offers guidance and ideas for teaching and learning. This work explains how nurses make clinical decisions through the development of narratives, and how, using narratives, nurses gain a far more intimate knowledge of the patient than doctors can. It is useful for students of nursing, registered nurses and nurse managers.