Judy & I: My Life with Judy Garland

Download Judy & I: My Life with Judy Garland PDF

Author :
Publisher : Omnibus Press
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781787590724
Pages : 465 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.7/5 (875 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Judy & I: My Life with Judy Garland :

Download or read book Judy & I: My Life with Judy Garland written by Sid Luft and published by Omnibus Press. This book was released on 2018-04-19 with total page 465 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Sid ‘One-Punch’ Luft, amateur-boxer, producer and Judy Garland’s third husband was the one man in her life who stuck around, helping her achieve a meteoric comeback in the 1960s. It was Luft who reversed the fortunes of an apparently faded career, seeing her triumph at Carnegie Hall, in ‘A Star Is Born’ and ‘The Judy Garland Show’. Previously unpublished, Sid Luft’s intimate autobiography tells their story in hard-boiled yet elegant prose. It begins on a fateful night in New York City when the not-quite-divorced Judy and the not-quite-divorced Sid meet at Billy Reed’s Little Club. A straight-talking sharp shooter, Sid fell for Judy hard and fast and the romance persisted through separations, reconciliations, and later divorce. However, her drug dependencies and suicidal tendencies put a tremendous strain on the relationship. Sid did not complete his memoir; it ended in 1960 after Judy hired David Begelman and Freddie Fields to manage her career. But Randy L. Schmidt, acclaimed editor of Judy Garland on Judy Garland, seamlessly pieced together the final section of the book from extensive interviews with Sid, most previously unpublished. Despite everything, Sid never stopped loving Judy and never forgave himself for not being able to save her from the demons that ultimately drove her to an early death at age forty-seven in 1969. Sid served as chief conservator of the Garland legacy until his death at the age of eighty-nine in 2005. This is his testament to the love of his life. ‘In prose so brassy that it bruises the sensibilities, Luft… illuminates the dark side of life in the spotlight and dispels any sentimental illusions about the glories of show business in Hollywood’s classic age.’ - The New Yorker

My Life and Opinions

Download My Life and Opinions PDF

Author :
Publisher : Human & Rosseau
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : STANFORD:36105113646769
Pages : 212 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.F/5 ( users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review My Life and Opinions :

Download or read book My Life and Opinions written by Herman Charles Bosman and published by Human & Rosseau. This book was released on 2003 with total page 212 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Although Bosman wrote no formal life history, this collection of his writing contains all the autobiographical pieces he wished to become known u from his Cape childhood and his Johannesburg education as a teacher, through to his career as a freelance journalist in exile in London and back home during and after World War Two. Included from the available historical records is his passionate self-defence from the dock when, in 1926, he was convicted of murder, with several spirited prison souvenirs freshly recovered. A selection of his private letters is also published here for the first time, together with a broadcast confession. Because his commitment to advancing the cause of literature in South Africa was inseparable from his personality, many of his critical pieces expressing his thinking are here as well. These serve to complete the portrait in his own words of South Africa's greatest humorist.

Life History and the Historical Moment: Diverse Presentations

Download Life History and the Historical Moment: Diverse Presentations PDF

Author :
Publisher : W. W. Norton & Company
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9780393008609
Pages : 284 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (93 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Life History and the Historical Moment: Diverse Presentations :

Download or read book Life History and the Historical Moment: Diverse Presentations written by Erik H. Erikson and published by W. W. Norton & Company. This book was released on 1977-11-17 with total page 284 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: One of the most powerful (though deceptively simple) of current ideas is Erik H. Erikson's insight into the nature of the interrelationships of the psychogenic development of an individual and the historical development of the times. This insight, present in all his work beginning with Childhood and Society, and particularly examined in Young Man Luther and Gandhi's Truth, finds full and mature expression in the present book. Just as Erikson's notion of the identity crisis has been obscured and confused as it has passed into everyday speech, so too have glib popularizers misused his notions of psychobiography and psychohistory. Thus, this book is of supreme importance, not merely to set the record straight, but more especially to make these vital ideas, central to our time, fully available. "To deal with life history and history psychoanalytically," Erikson points out, "means to engage in a kind of circular chronology: our inquiry always points to selected periods in the past which, in throwing new light on the present, suggest new forays into the more distant past." Consequently, this book opens with autobiography; ranges through discussions of Freud and Gandhi and of the meaning of ideas on womanhood; and concludes with an examination of the role of psychoanalysis in the evolution of ethics.

From My Life

Download From My Life PDF

Author :
Publisher : Oxford, England ; New York : Pergamon
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : UOM:39015046433887
Pages : 515 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (91 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review From My Life :

Download or read book From My Life written by Erich Honecker and published by Oxford, England ; New York : Pergamon. This book was released on 1981 with total page 515 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

Disputed Truth

Download Disputed Truth PDF

Author :
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781472910981
Pages : 576 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (729 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Disputed Truth :

Download or read book Disputed Truth written by Hans Küng and published by Bloomsbury Publishing. This book was released on 2014-07-03 with total page 576 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Hans Küng has been a major influence on post-war Christianity by any reckoning. a peritus for the second Vatican council, he then went on to publish a number of controversial books, including Infallible? An Enquiry (1971), which enraged the Vatican and caused him to lose the ecclesiastical approval of his teaching at the university of Tübingen. However, he remains a respected priest in good standing with his bishop. Throughout all the upheavals that the Catholic Church has undergone in recent decades, Küng has been an outspoken observer, turning himself from enfant terrible to béte noire. However his world influence has been great. Whether speaking at the United Nations or consorting with politicians and religious leaders, he is always listened to with respect and enthusiasm. A string of recent books has added to his reputation-notably On Being a Christian (1974) and Does God Exist? An Answer for Today (1980) What is not so well known is that, as a young man, Küng was a close friend and confidant of Joseph Ratzinger (Benedict XVI). Over the years, however, they increasingly came to represent exactly what the other most despised. On being appointed to the Holy See, Ratzinger had a long private meeting with Küng , the consequences of which may resonate within the Catholic Church for many years. In these thrilling memoirs Küng gives his personal account of all these struggles and ambitions. The result is a book of major importance for any student of the church in the 20th century. This second volume covers the period following the close of the Second Vatican Council right up to the present day.

Memories of My Life and Times

Download Memories of My Life and Times PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : UOM:39015027809436
Pages : 664 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (91 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Memories of My Life and Times :

Download or read book Memories of My Life and Times written by Bipin Chandra Pal and published by . This book was released on 1973 with total page 664 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Autobiography of an extremist leader of Indian National Congress and leader of Brahmo Samaj.

Remarks of My Life, 1786-1792

Download Remarks of My Life, 1786-1792 PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : UOM:39015019842056
Pages : 114 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (91 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Remarks of My Life, 1786-1792 :

Download or read book Remarks of My Life, 1786-1792 written by Hezekiah Prince and published by . This book was released on 1979 with total page 114 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Day book of Hezekiah Prince, Sr. kept from 1786 to 1792.

My Life and Experiences Among Our Hostile Indians

Download My Life and Experiences Among Our Hostile Indians PDF

Author :
Publisher : Digital Scanning Inc
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781582182612
Pages : 580 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.5/5 (821 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review My Life and Experiences Among Our Hostile Indians :

Download or read book My Life and Experiences Among Our Hostile Indians written by O. O. Howard and published by Digital Scanning Inc. This book was released on 2001 with total page 580 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: This book was written by Major General O. O. Howard in an attempt to tell his life story and personal experiences among the Indian tribes that he came into contact with as a result of war. Written in autobiographical form, this piece captures the essence of the opinion of many military men had concerning the Indian tribes with whom we shared this country. While many of the author’s experiences were founded in peace-making, it is difficult to overlook his general acknowledgement of savagery and hostility among the Indians. This work chronicles the conflict between the Indian tribes and the pioneers as the two groups battles for land and the right to live as they pleased. Within this conflict was the idea of “civilization”. This process is discussed in detail as the white settlers attempted to press their own customs and lifestyles upon the ancient Indian tribes.

The History of My Life

Download The History of My Life PDF

Author :
Publisher : Forgotten Books
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 1330309413
Pages : 298 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.3/5 (94 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The History of My Life :

Download or read book The History of My Life written by Ashton Oxenden and published by Forgotten Books. This book was released on 2015-06-15 with total page 298 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Excerpt from The History of My Life: An Autobiography In looking back on my past life, amidst my many regrets there is one which often comes over me - that I have kept no record of days gone by. Had I done so, although there might have been little to interest others, there would have been much that would have been both interesting and profitable to myself. And further, it might have served to recall to those near and dear to me the recollection of many events, on which they would gladly dwell. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.

Napoleon's Letters to Josephine

Download Napoleon's Letters to Josephine PDF

Author :
Publisher : e-artnow
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : EAN:4064066498726
Pages : 233 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (64 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Napoleon's Letters to Josephine :

Download or read book Napoleon's Letters to Josephine written by Napoleon Bonaparte and published by e-artnow. This book was released on 2021-05-12 with total page 233 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Napoleon was not only a great commander and ruler, he was also a king of words. This extraordinary collection of personal correspondence of Napoleon and his wife Josephine show us this great leader in a new light. Throughout this correspondence readers will be able to follow Napoleon's career through his own eyes and thoughts who he shared with women he loved the most. Also, this collection is enriched with historical and chronological notes with aim to provide additional explanations to modern readers. _x000D_ _x000D_ _x000D_

The History of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts-Bay

Download The History of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts-Bay PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : PSU:000061444218
Pages : 453 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.0/5 ( users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The History of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts-Bay :

Download or read book The History of the Colony and Province of Massachusetts-Bay written by Thomas Hutchinson and published by . This book was released on 1970 with total page 453 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

The Complete Works of Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Download The Complete Works of Mary Elizabeth Braddon PDF

Author :
Publisher : e-artnow
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : EAN:4057664556349
Pages : 11908 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (57 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Complete Works of Mary Elizabeth Braddon :

Download or read book The Complete Works of Mary Elizabeth Braddon written by Mary Elizabeth Braddon and published by e-artnow. This book was released on 2019-09-06 with total page 11908 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: e-artnow presents to you this meticulously edited Mary Elizabeth Braddon collection: Novels: The Trail of the Serpent Lady Audley's Secret Aurora Floyd The Captain of the Vulture John Marchmont's Legacy Eleanor's Victory Henry Dunbar The Doctor's Wife Birds of Prey Charlotte's Inheritance Run to Earth Fenton's Quest The Lovels of Arden A Strange World The Cloven Foot Vixen Mount Royal Phantom Fortune The Golden Calf Wyllard's Weird Mohawks All Along the River Gerard (The World, the Flesh, and the Devil) London Pride His Darling Sin The Infidel Beyond These Voices Short Stories: Ralph the Bailiff and Other Stories: Ralph the Bailiff Captain Thomas The Cold Embrace My Daughters The Mystery of Fernwood Samuel Lowgood's Revenge The Lawyer's Secret My First Happy Christmas Lost and Found Eveline's Visitant – A Ghost Story Found in the Muniment Chest How I Heard my Own Will Read Flower and Weed and Other Tales: Flower and Weed George Caulfield's Journey The Clown's Quest Dr. Carrick If She Be Not Fair to Me The Shadow in the Corner His Secret Thou Art the Man Milly Darrell Good Lady Ducayne At Chrighton Abbey Children's Book: The Christmas Hirelings My First Novel by M. E. Braddon

The Historical Magazine

Download The Historical Magazine PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : PSU:000053232397
Pages : pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.0/5 ( users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The Historical Magazine :

Download or read book The Historical Magazine written by John Ward Dean and published by . This book was released on 1870 with total page pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

Private letters from the time Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the army to that of his inauguration as president of the United States, December, 1783, to April, 1789

Download Private letters from the time Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the army to that of his inauguration as president of the United States, December, 1783, to April, 1789 PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : PRNC:32101072313156
Pages : pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.:/5 (321 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Private letters from the time Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the army to that of his inauguration as president of the United States, December, 1783, to April, 1789 :

Download or read book Private letters from the time Washington resigned his commission as commander-in-chief of the army to that of his inauguration as president of the United States, December, 1783, to April, 1789 written by George Washington and published by . This book was released on 1837 with total page pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

Historical Discourse

Download Historical Discourse PDF

Author :
Publisher : Bloomsbury Publishing
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 9781441123794
Pages : 224 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.4/5 (411 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Historical Discourse :

Download or read book Historical Discourse written by Caroline Coffin and published by Bloomsbury Publishing. This book was released on 2009-01-01 with total page 224 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Historical Discourse analyses the importance of the language of time, cause and evaluation in both texts which students at secondary school are required to read, and their own writing for assessment. In contrast to studies which have denied that history has a specialised language, Caroline Coffin demonstrates through a detailed study of historical texts, that writing about the past requires different genres, lexical and grammatical structures. In this analysis, language emerges as a powerful tool for making meaning in historical writing. Presupposing no prior knowledge of systemic functional linguistics, this insightful book will be of interest to researchers in applied linguistics and discourse analysis, as well as history educators.

The History of the Anglo-Saxons

Download The History of the Anglo-Saxons PDF

Author :
Publisher :
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : PSU:000015757166
Pages : pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.0/5 ( users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review The History of the Anglo-Saxons :

Download or read book The History of the Anglo-Saxons written by Sharon Turner and published by . This book was released on 1820 with total page pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt:

Equipping Young People to Choose Non-Violence

Download Equipping Young People to Choose Non-Violence PDF

Author :
Publisher : Jessica Kingsley Publishers
Release Date :
Language : EN, FR, GB
ISBN 10 : 0857006053
Pages : 144 pages
File : PDF, EPUB, or MOBI
Rating : 4.0/5 (6 users download)


GO BOOK!


Summary Book Review Equipping Young People to Choose Non-Violence :

Download or read book Equipping Young People to Choose Non-Violence written by Gerry Heery and published by Jessica Kingsley Publishers. This book was released on 2011-10-15 with total page 144 pages. Available in PDF, EPUB and Kindle. Book excerpt: Equipping Young People to Choose Non-Violence is a 12-session programme for those working with young people aged 10+ whose use of violent or aggressive behaviour is problematic. Designed to be used individually, the programme is grounded in restorative justice principles and encourages the young person to take responsibility for their behaviour. It also supports them in recognizing the effects of their actions and in identifying ways to repair the harm caused, and teaches them new skills in dealing with conflict and avoiding future violence. A theory section explains the value and evidence base and provides guidance on delivering the programme. Each session is clearly laid out with identified objectives, how to begin and end the session, and photocopiable handouts are included. This will be of great use to all those working with young people involved in violent behaviour, including youth offending teams, social workers, youth workers and school counsellors.